Richard Matheson

June 24, 2013

My favorite author, Richard Matheson, died yesterday at the age of 87. That beautiful genius of a mind, which gave us so many wonderful stories, movies, and tv episodes; and gave to me “I am Legend.” I always wanted to thank him personally for how his works have touched my life, but perhaps now he knows. Robert Neville and I only have each other now.

In his book, “What Dreams May Come,” Matheson explored his beliefs in the afterlife. The spirit goes to Summerland, in which the landscape is shaped by the thoughts of the inhabitants. The particular Heaven of each religion exists somewhere, because that is what members of each religion expect. I hope that he is there right now.

Thank you again for more than I can say.

“For in that sleep of death what dreams may come / When we have shuffled off this mortal coil, / Must give us pause.”

Richard Matheson

Leave a Reply

